Architas and Professional Adviser are very pleased to reveal the individuals and firms to have made the shortlists for the inaugural New Talent Awards.

Taking place at Glaziers Hall in London on 26 September, the awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of those at the beginning of their career in the sector.

The event is not about pitting young against old, but championing those that do the most to develop young talent in the sector and those new to the space who are already going above and beyond what is expected of them.

The first stage of the judging process consisted of Professional Adviser and Architas working rigurously through all of the entries to decide on the final shortlists. It is now up to a panel of judges, handpicked from the personal finance and investment sector, to comb through each category of shortlists before choosing the final winners.

Architas head of UK funds Sarah Ackland, who will be helping to judge the process, said it was encouraging to see the number of entrants for the awards as well as the “exceptional talent” on display.

She continued: “We have a part to play in bringing in new, diverse talent into the profession and we hope these awards can help demonstrate it is a career choice for people from a variety of backgrounds and that there is a real talent in the industry.

“I look forward to reviewing each and every nomination as part of the thorough judging process.”

The finalists in full:

Administrator of the year:

Lauren Alexandra Collier – Schroders

Rahul Lakhani – Furnley House

Ellie Mosley – Unique Financial Planning

Charlotte Williams – Quilter Private Client Advisers

Bethany Houghton – PLUS Group

Katie Marie Robbins – Unique Financial Planning


Adviser of the year:

Hannah Owen – Quilter Private Client Advisers

Michael Laurence O’Connell – EB Associates Group

Jonathan Hickson – Strategic Solutions Chartered Financial Planners

James Richardson – Brewin Dolphin

Liam Wood – Oculus Wealth Management

Kris Amiliwala – Designer Wealth Management

Augusta Onyiuke-Eluma – Foster Denovo

David Malin – Lamont Pridmore Asset & Wealth Management

Graeme McInally – Mearns & Company

Andy Willemite – Heron House Financial Management

Gwilym Lloyd Jones – Sanlam Wealth Planning


Best adviser firm development programme (internal):

Mazars Financial Planning

Future Proof

Quilter Private Client Advisers

Rathbones Financial Planning

Wills & Trust Chartered Financial Planners


Best development programme (external):

The Training Contract – NextGen Planners

The Academy Programme – Openwork

The Grad Scheme – Para-Sols


Charitable deeds:

Katy Howard – Wills and Trusts

Charlotte Williams – Quilter Private Client Advisers


Diversity & Inclusion:

James Richardson – Brewin Dolphin

Felicia Meyerowitz Singh – Akoni

Joseph Williams – Niche

Darcy Needham – Mazars Financial Planning


Innovator of the year:

Alexander Haley – Para-Sols

Dan Graham – Postcard Financial Planning

James Richardson – Brewin Dolphin


Marketer of the year:

Marco Barcellona – Continuum (Financial Services)

Monique Subasic – LDNfinance

Nick Fisher – Truly Independent

Danielle Wilson – Answers in Retirement

Vicky Elliott – MJ Hudson

Danielle Garber – 2020 Financial

Jasmine Nattrass – Para-Sols

Hannah Thorp – Addidi Wealth

Graeme McInally – Mearns & Company

James Robert Moore – Aviva Investors


Paraplanner of the year:

David Williams, Furnley House

Louise Wilson, O’Connor & Co (Financial Services)

Abby Rose, Heron House Financial Management

Aurelija Buckute, Mearns & Company

Mark Robinson, Begley Brown Financial Solutions

Chloe Moran, 1825 Financial Planning

Roxanna Luis, EB Associates Group

Danielle Cole, Unique Financial Planning

Lisa Gilpin, Lamont Pridmore Asset & Wealth Management

Kate Hall, Para-Sols

David Williams, Furnley House


Rising star of the year:

Liam Fowler – Heron House Financial Management

Stephen King – North Financial Management

Sean Irwin – DFP Wealth Management

Heather Owen – Quilter Private Client Advisers

Chloe Moran – 1825 Financial Planner

Tom Hopson – HFMC Wealth

Lauren Louise Waite-Hughes – Quilter Private Client Advisers

James Higton – Quilter Private Client Advisers

Katie Elizabeth Whelan – OHFS

Alexander Haley – Para-Sols

Liam Fowler – Heron House Financial Management


Social media personality of the year:

Danielle Wilson – Answers in Retirement

Elidh Stewart – Virtue Money

Charlotte Williams – Quilter Private Client Advisers


Trainee/Grad of the year:

Sunaina Khaylar – Para-Sols

Matthew Taylor – Heron House Financial Management

Joe Fisher – Lumin Wealth Management

Jack Tailby – Jarrovian Wealth

Kris Amliwala – Designer Wealth Management

Richard Emsley – Sanlam

Jordan Colclough – 3D IFS

Heather Owen – Quilter Private Client Advisers

Mark Robinson – Begley Brown Financial Solutions

Michael Cooke – Para-Sols

Darcy Needham – Mazars Financial Planning


Unsung hero of the year:

Kris Amliwala – Designer Wealth Management

Carla Smith – LDNfinance Solutions

Amy Jones – Quilter Private Client Advisers


Young team of the year:

Trinity Core Team, Trinity Lifetime Partners

MoneyLens Team, Schroders

Buckingham Gate Chartered Financial Planners


Edward Bond Associates

Friends Advisers

Heron House Financial Management

Financial Planning Team, Carrington Investments